What is the Company Directory?
The company directory provides you with an overview of the names and contact information for employees in your organization. Find it in your Justworks account under Company in the left-hand navigation bar.
Please note that employees will not be included in the directory prior to their start date at the company. You can also check to see if the employee is hidden from the company directory by going to the employee’s profile in Manage > Employees. In their account, go to the ‘Settings’ tab to confirm if their ‘Visibility’ is set to ‘Visible in directory’.
Employees that are hidden in the directory will also be hidden from the Company Calendar and Org Chart. Admins with the ‘Manage employees’ permission will be able to update the visibility of each employee.
How do I find people in the Company Directory?
The directory is grouped by any department assignments, then by alphabetical order based on employees’ last name. There are additional filters to sort the directory, which includes ‘Office’ and ‘Manager’.
Clicking into a member’s name in the directory will lead you to their profile, also available by going to Manage > Employees/Contractors.
What is the Org Chart?
An organizational chart provides a visual of the internal structure of an organization. You can see each member of your team represented by boxes, including their details such as photos, departments, and office location. Lines link members together to show the hierarchy that makes up your company.
You can view your company’s Org Chart in your Justworks account by clicking into ‘Org Chart’ in the left-hand navigation bar, under Directory. The Org Chart will default to full screen, centering on you.
You can also go to a smaller view of the Org Chart by clicking ‘Exit Full Screen’ on the top-left hand corner.
All employees and contractors that are visible in the Company Directory will also be shown in the Org Chart, showing the structure of your organization and the relationships between the members.
All employees and contractors will have access to the Company Directory and the Org Chart, unless they are hidden from the directory in their employee profile.
How do I use the Org Chart?
You can zoom in and out of the Org Chart to view different levels of information by using the +/- buttons available in the top right-hand side. Clicking “Zoom to fit” will default the view to the zoom percentage that captures all of the members available in your organization.
If using a mouse, you can also zoom in and out by scroll wheel. If your computer has a trackpad, you can also pinch in or out to zoom.
You can access different areas of the Org Chart at a certain zoom level by holding down and dragging your cursor. When you click on an employee’s name within their card in the Org Chart, you’ll be led to that employee’s page in the Company directory.
You can also change your view of the Org Chart by using the department-level filters. Add or subtract certain departments to show the employees and contractors that roll up to a certain team.
Remember, the Org Chart will reflect the information listed in the Company Directory. If you have questions about the structure of your organization, admins with the ‘Manage Employees’ permission are able to update Managers and Direct reports.
Like the directory, if an employee does not appear in the Org Chart, note that the employee’s Start Date must be no earlier than today to appear in the Company Directory and the Org Chart.
If an employee is hidden in the directory, they will be hidden in the Org Chart as well. This can be confirmed by reviewing their Visibility in their employee profile, by going to Manage > Employees.
As a best practice, it’s recommended that the Org Chart is referenced after making any structural or HR changes to make sure the visual aligns with your team’s understanding of your organization. The Org Chart will update in real time based on any changes made to your team’s info.
If you’d like to hide your Org Chart from your employees that are not admins, please reach out to our Customer Support team to request to remove this option from employee accounts.